Driving around with marijuana?
Know what are the rules and regulations when driving with bud on you.
January 1, 2018, possession of up to one (1) ounce of marijuana or eight (8) grams of concentrated cannabis (hashish) became legal for all adults age 21 and over in California. But the rules of driving around with marijuana is still in question here.
Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana
Yes, you are able to obtain possession of more than 28.5 grams of marijuana (slightly over one ounce) or more than eight (8) grams of concentrated cannabis (hashish) is prohibited under California’s marijuana legalization law. The Health and Safety Code 11357 HS, California’s marijuana possession law, does still make it a crime to:
Possess more than 28.5 grams (approximately one ounce) of marijuana or more than eight grams of concentrated cannabis;
Possess marijuana or concentrated cannabis if you are under 21, except in accordance with California’s medical marijuana laws; or
Possess marijuana on the grounds of a K-12 school while the school is in session.
Simple possession of excessive amounts of marijuana is a California misdemeanor for adult defendants. The potential penalties are:
Six (6) months in county jail, and/or
A fine of up to five hundred dollars ($500).
Driving with weed in your car, how can I carry my marijuana?
You are allowed to carry up to 28 grams. That is an ounce. But the issue here is not how much, because we all know it is for personal use.
The cannabis or cannabis product needs to be contained in a container or receptacle that is either sealed, resealed, or closed. According to California Vehicle Code 23222(b) VC is California’s “open container” law for marijuana. VC 23222(b) makes it unlawful to drive with any marijuana that is:
If it is not in a container or is in a container that has been opened or has a seal broken.
Is there a fraction or fine if there are any receptacle containing any cannabis or cannabis products, as defined by Section 11018.1 of the Health and Safety Code, which has been opened or has a seal broken, or loose cannabis flower not in a container, is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100).